Skip to content

CLIENT TESTIMONIALS

Barranco Wall on Kilimanjaro

N othing makes us happier than to hear that you had an amazing time on your trip. It is what makes this job so enjoyable. If you climbed Kilimanjaro or went on a safari or both, let us know how we did by writing a client testimonial. If you have something great to say about us feel free to click on one or more of the buttons and share the love. If there is something that you feel we could have done better feel free to email us and we will review your suggestions. We are always looking to improve our service.

Read the testimonials from our past clients. They are not edited and are taken directly from our email survey. We will make sure that our guides, porters, and entire administrative staff receives these reviews, so bring a little cheer to our day by sending us a review.

Thank you,
The Staff at Kilimanjaro Sunrise

This goes directly to us.

TripAdvisor Listing

Our Facebook page.

Google Listing

My Tanzania Adventure Was Beyond Anything I Could’ve Imagined

My recent trip to Tanzania was an absolute blast! I climbed Kilimanjaro followed by an epic safari through Tarangire and the Ngorongoro Crater! Let’s start with Kilimanjaro. Our guides were not just experts—they were legends! They knew every twist and turn of that mountain like the back of their hands. They were so friendly and cheerful the entire trip. I’ll never forget standing on top of the world with Africa spread out below us. Unforgettable!

And the food? Oh boy, it was way better than expected. Our mountain chef whipped up these incredible meals inside a tent. From amazing soups to delicious main dishes, every bite was tasted so good after a day of hiking.

But the real heroes are the porters. Those guys were superhuman. They didn’t just carry our stuff, they did it with big smiles and high fives. Their energy and spirit lifted us up when the going got tough. They made the whole experience not just doable, but downright fun.

After conquering Kili, the safari was like the cherry on top. Our safari driver took us through Tarangire and Ngorongoro. He knew exactly where to go to see the most animals. He spotted creatures we’d never even heard, like dik diks, and saravel cats, and told stories that made the savannah come alive. Seeing elephants, lions, and a zillion other creatures in their natural habitat was mind-blowing.

And the tent on safari was like something out of an old black and white movie. Bring your earplugs because the animal noises at night are both exciting and a bit terrifying.

All in all, my Tanzania adventure was beyond anything I could’ve imagined. Huge shoutout to the amazing people who made it happen—guides, chefs, porters, everyone! If you’re up for a wild ride and unforgettable memories, book your trip with Kilimanjaro Sunrise.

Kilimanjaro Sumrise Review

Karie
June 2024

Outstanding from start to finish

I had an incredible experience climbing Mount Kilimanjaro with Kilimanjaro Sunrise. From start to finish, they provided exceptional service and made sure my trek was safe, comfortable, and unforgettable.

Our guides were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the mountain and kept us walking extremely slow. When the hiking got hard, like on summit day, they inspired confidence in us and kept us motivated.

The entire crew took excellent care of us by providing delicious meals on the mountain and choosing campsites away from the bathrooms. They were always smiling and laughing and we will not forget them.

From the airport pickup to hotel accommodations before and after the trek, everything was seamlessly arranged by Kilimanjaro Sunrise. The tents and sleeping pads made sleeping comfortable and cozy.

I can’t recommend Kilimanjaro Sunrise enough for anyone looking to hike Mount Kilimanjaro. We weren’t able to squeeze in a safari this time, but we will go back and safari with Kilimanjaro Sunrise. My experience with them was outstanding from start to finish! The memories I made will last a lifetime.

Outstanding from start to finish. Client review.

Matthew
January 2024

Made My Dream a Reality

I have always dreamed of climbing Kilimanjaro. This past summer, I finally had the opportunity to make my dream a reality. I booked a trek with Kilimanjaro Sunrise, and I am so glad I did.

From the moment I arrived in Tanzania, I was taken care of by incredible people. The guides were knowledgeable, experienced, and always willing to help. They made sure that we were safe and comfortable throughout the entire trek. The porters were also amazing. They carried all of our gear, including our food and tents, so that we could focus on enjoying the climb. They were always cheerful and singing. They made the trip even more enjoyable.

I was amazed at how good the food was. The chef prepared delicious meals. There was always plenty of food to go around, and I never went hungry. Who could have guessed that cucumber would make a great soup!

My Kilimanjaro trip was one of the most unforgettable experiences of my life. The scenery was breathtaking, the people were amazing, and the hike was rewarding. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking to climb Kilimanjaro.

Sign at Sunrise

Emma
August 2023

I owe this amazing moment in my life to the guides and porters

Climbing Kilimanjaro with Kilimanjaro Sunrise was a life-changing experience that surpassed all my expectations. From the moment I signed up until the final descent, every aspect of the trip was impeccably organized and executed. I cannot express enough how grateful I am for the exceptional team of porters and guides who made this adventure possible and unforgettable.

First and foremost, the professionalism and expertise of the guides was outstanding. They possessed an in-depth knowledge of the mountain. Their friendly and approachable demeanor made me feel at ease from day one. Throughout the trek, they provided invaluable advice, encouragement, and ensured our safety at all times. It was evident that they genuinely cared about each member of the group and were genuinely passionate about sharing the wonders of Kilimanjaro with us.

The porters were the unsung heroes of the trek. Not only did they carry our heavy equipment and supplies, but they did so with smiles on their faces and an incredible amount of strength and endurance. I was in awe of their physical abilities and the hard work they put in day in and day out, all while maintaining a positive attitude. The dedication and spirit of the porters truly added to the camaraderie and sense of community among the climbers.

The climb itself was a breathtaking adventure. Each day brought new challenges and rewards as we ascended Kilimanjaro. The guides kept us going “Pole, Pole” to help us acclimatize and maximize our chances of reaching the summit. They encouraged us to stay positive and focused during the most difficult moments. I couldn’t have made it without their unwavering support.

On Summit night, I burst into tears as the sun slowly rose as I reached Stella Point. I felt an overwhelming sense of gratitude and achievement. Then, upon reaching the sign at the top I was overcome by emotions. I owe this amazing moment in my life to the guides and porters.

I wholeheartedly recommend Kilimanjaro Sunrise for a genuinely unforgettable journey.

kilimanjaro sunrise review

Kimberly
July 2023

I was EXTREMELY satisfied with everything about the tours

I did a Kilimanjaro climb and a safari through Kilimanjaro Sunrise in September of 2022. My father (70yo) also attempted to climb Kilimanjaro, and both my father and mother joined on the 5-day safari.

I was EXTREMELY satisfied with everything about the tours. Our mountain guide, Frederick, was diligent in making sure we were taken care of. I came in expecting a tough climb with only the essential gear and food. So when we found out that we were getting a high-quality tent, a food tent, tons of really good food (including breakfast/lunch/dinner/snacks/tea, with fully cooked courses!) we were blown away. My father had some stomach issues and our cook worked with him to try and make mild foods that would be easier on him but still fill him up. Ultimately, the issues were too much and he had to go down early, so our assistant guide, Johnson, helped him get back to the road for a safe pickup.

I am an experienced and fit climber and the starting pace was somewhat excruciating, since they have to be conscientious toward less experienced climbers. But, Freddie worked with me to find a pace that was comfortable. The whole team did what they could to make our climbing experience as smooth as possible. Extra kudos to both Freddie and Hassani, who summited with me. We had a full-moon climb and the three of us went so quick that we were first to summit that day. All of the guides/porters/etc had great attitudes, were incredibly capable, and willing to do whatever they could to make our experience enjoyable. I wish I could remember every person’s name (the two of us had 12 people running our camp) because they were all excellent. I also, strongly recommend the private toilet; it literally saved our butts over the first few days.

On the safari, our guide was Tesha. The vehicle was in excellent shape, and Tesha kept it well stocked with food and drinks. He clearly cared a lot about the condition of the vehicle and kept everything clean and tidy. He also had a lot of experience with the parks and communicated with other guides to give us an excellent experience. Coming from the US, I am used to our national parks where you might see a few ungulates and a bear if you’re lucky. When we got to Tarangire on the first day we were instantly blown away by the shear quantity of wildlife! We were basically taking pictures from the second we got into the park, with only brief breaks for food and restrooms.

Tesha was great at putting us right in the thick of the action. We saw pretty much every big African animal we hoped to see on the entire trip by the end of day 1 (Except a rhino, which we ended up not seeing during the trip. But that’s certainly not within anybody’s control) including a pair of lions bringing down a warthog. As expected, the park roads (and even some main roads, especially from Ngorongoro onward) were pretty rough, but the seats in the Land Rover made the ride pretty comfortable. I will say, the drive to Serengeti was so long it borders on painful. I would recommend people try to fly to Serengeti instead of driving, unless they want to go to Olduvai on their way. But Tesha did what he could with the roads as they are. He also tried to give us more breaks during the day, as my parents were both feeling pretty ragged doing sunrise-sunset in the car.

The accommodations in the parks were fabulous. Each camp was downright luxurious with hot water showers, full beds, even netted porches. I wish we had been able to lounge around them longer, but we only did overnights. I’d strongly recommend spending multiple nights in each park to anyone who has the time. All the camp staff and managers worked hard to keep their camps in good shape and to see that we had a relaxing stay. The food and drinks were generally very good. The only note I have is that the meat in most places tends to be a little overcooked. This may be the way local people prefer it, and it didn’t make anything inedible. But, for people who are picky they might want to talk to the cooks about their food beforehand. That was something we noticed not only at the field camps but also in our lodge in Arusha.

I went into this trip not really knowing what to expect. Needless to say, Kilimanjaro Sunrise’s crew exceeded my expectations. Freddie, Johnson, Tesha, all made our trip one that we will never forget. I also compared their pricing to many competitors. I think for the quality of the trip, their pricing is exceedingly reasonable. I wouldn’t say anything about our trip felt like it was “budget travel”; it really felt very high quality. I will also note that Kilimanjaro Sunrise is part of the Porter Protection union that guarantees fair wages and treatment to their crews. It was really important to me that the company I go with is run ethically and I got that impression from everyone I talked to. I will absolutely be back again, and I strongly recommend KS to anyone who wants to experience the best of Tanzania.

Kilimanjaro Sunrise client review

David
March 2023

Absolutely Incredible Experience

Just finished my climb up Mount Kilimanjaro and it was an absolutely incredible experience! The scenery was breathtaking, the sense of accomplishment upon reaching the summit was indescribable, and the camaraderie among my fellow climbers was unforgettable. I couldn’t have done it without the support of my amazing guide and the porters who carried our gear. I highly recommend this climb to anyone looking for a challenging and rewarding adventure. Thank you, Kilimanjaro Sunrise, for the memories that will last a lifetime!

Kilimanjaro near Karanga Camp

Bryan
January 2023

I will always treasure the memories

I recently had the opportunity to climb Kilimanjaro with Kilimanjaro Sunrise and it was an experience of a lifetime. From the moment I arrived in Tanzania, the team at Kilimanjaro Sunrise made me feel welcomed and supported. They provided detailed information about the climb and made sure all of my questions were answered.

The guides were incredibly knowledgeable and experienced. They were always available to offer support and encouragement, and they made sure that our group was well-informed about the conditions on the mountain. They also went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and well fed throughout the climb.

The porters were also amazing. They carried all of our gear and made sure that we had everything we needed. They were always smiling and happy to help, even when the going got tough.

The hiking was challenging, but the views were absolutely breathtaking. Each day brought new landscapes and new opportunities to take in the beautiful scenery. Summit day was hard, but my mountain team made sure that we never alone, they encouraged us with singing and carried my pack. I’m not sure I would have made it without them.

Overall, I had an amazing experience climbing with Kilimanjaro Sunrise. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to climb Kilimanjaro. The team is incredibly professional, knowledgeable and supportive, and they go above and beyond to make sure that their clients have the best possible experience. I am grateful that I met the guides and porters and will always treasure the memories I made on Kilimanjaro.

kilimanjaro

Carol
January 2023

Better than I could have imagined

Going to Kilimanjaro was never on my list of trips I wanted to do. But my friend asked me if I’d like to climb Kilimanjaro with him and I said why not. Six months later I was standing on top of the mountain. I’d have to say that it was much harder than I thought it was going to be, but the guides and even the porters of Kilimanjaro Sunrise were excellent. They were so friendly, knowledgeable and supportive. They made the experience one I will cherish. Thank you.

reason to climb Kilimanjaro

Bill C
December 2022

The guide and porters made the climb!

The guide and porters made the climb! Without their help and encouragement, I doubt that I would have fulfilled my dream of climbing Mt Meru and Mt Kilimanjaro for my 68th birthday! This outfit was perfect and I thank them from the bottom of my heart for making my dreams come true!

Sincerely, Charley Gay

mt meru

Charley
October 2022

What an Adventure!

Wow! I can’t say enough about this trip. It was so much fun, difficult, but more than I ever expected. The guides and porters were so friendly and hard working. They carried crazy amount of gear, on their heads and did it with a smile. The food was good and so was the tent and super warm sleeping bag I rented. The days went by quicker than I thought they would and before I knew it, I was at the summit. Thank you so much for a great trip.

Climb Kilimanjaro

Bill
September 2022

Thank you to our mountain family

Kilimanjaro Sunrise made our entire trip very easy to plan. From the initial inquiry to booking and final planning, communication was always prompt. All the team members we got a chance to meet and interact with from Kilimanjaro Sunrise were friendly and professional. One of our climber’s bags was lost by the airline and therefore we had to work on getting rental gear for her Kilimanjaro trek, and although a highly stressful situation, the process was made as smooth as possible. Our lead guide Hiary really went above and beyond to ensure she felt at ease and worked to ensure she had everything needed to successfully summit. The entire team on the mountain were extremely friendly and accomodating, ensuring our group felt as comfortable as possible throughout our 8 days. Even though we hadn’t experienced any different, we felt we got very lucky with our team on the mountain. Every single person made our trek more memorable, safe, fun, and comfortable. The team worked so hard, but never once complained or stopped smiling. The experience of climbing Kilimanjaro and our 2 day safari were both amazing experiences, and Kilimanjaro Sunrise’s planning and accomodations were very well thought out and seamless. Thank you to our mountain family: Hiary, Daudi, Kitenana, Peter, Filbert, Risiwan, Michael, Justin, Laurouk, Hamisi.

Kilimanjaro sunrise review

Anna
August 2022

Trip of a Lifetime!

We are so glad we climbed with Kilimanjaro Sunrise. Your guides were amazing! We loved the food and the tents and sleeping bags were so cozy. Thank you for creating such a memorable trip!

kelly

Kelly
June 2022

Awesome Climb!

My brother and I had an amazing holiday with Kilimanjaro Sunrise. We were not sure what to expect since this was our first trek, but it was awesome! We could tell from the moment we were picked up from the airport that we made a great choice. The driver, who was also our guide, was already waiting for us and was super friendly. He was really knowledgeable about the mountain and helped us every step of the way. We climbed on the Rongai route and felt that the scenery and the trail were both better than we anticipated. We both summited and will be recommending you guys to our friends. Thanks for a memorable trip.”

climb kilimanjaro

Kenneth
March 2022

Absolute perfection from start to finish

My 8-Day Lemosho climb and Ngorogoro Crater safari with Kilimanjaro Sunrise were absolute perfection from start to finish. Airport transfers and hotel pickups were on time and in high quality vehicles. The information relayed before the trips was invaluable and covered everything I could think of and more, so I felt well-prepared for the trip. The staff, guides, and crew were knowledgeable, welcoming, and dedicated to making my journey both enjoyable and safe. I loved everything about my experience: great tents, super comfy sleeping pads, ultra warm sleeping bags, fantastic meals, great pre & post climb lodge accommodations, superb guides, driver, and porters, and the comfortable, well-equipped safari vehicle. I highly recommend Kilimanjaro Sunrise if you’re planning a Kilimanjaro climb and/or safari.

Kilimanjaro summit

Taylor
October 2021

The guides and porter crew were amazing

The guides were informative about the history and layout of the area. The porters were very hard working and fast to make sure our camp was set up by the time we got to it every evening. They were always smiling and happy and really made the trip. Our guides made sure we were going the right pace to acclimate, the Chef made sure the food was nutrient packed for the particular day ahead; even prior to summit night the diet was modified to make sure our systems could digest more easily.

Trip briefings every night informed us what to expect on the trail and even what we would be eating the following day. Health checks were performed on staff and us each day to ensure we all remained healthy.

Our entire group was able to summit and we even had a surprise summit celebration once we got down with cake and mocktails!

I did rent a sleeping bag as to save space in my bag for the flight there and back; and I have to say, it was such an amazing bag I plan on purchasing one myself. Some nights got to freezing and not once did I feel cold. The sleeping pads were about as comfortable as a bed. Tents were roomy enough and ventilated well so there was no condensation inside the tent every morning.

Highly recommend KJ Sunrise to anyone wanting to accomplish this amazing trek.

client review

Jason
October 2021